- Is hitting three walls a scratch in pool?
- What happens if you miss all balls in pool?
- What are the rules for a scratch in pool?
- What happens if you scratch on the break in Pool?
- Is it a scratch if you don’t hit your ball first?
- What balls can you hit after a scratch?
- Do you lose if you scratch on the 9 ball?
- What happens if you make a stripe and solid on the break?
- Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
- What counts as a scratch on the 8 ball?
- Is it a scratch if you miss all the balls?
- Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
- What happens if you scratch on the ball before the 8 ball?
- Do you pull a ball out on a scratch?
- What happens after a scratch in pool?
- Do you win if you sink the 8 ball on the break?
Is hitting three walls a scratch in pool?
If your opponent fouls in any way whilst still on their colours, you have ball in hand and can put the cue ball anywhere behind the break line.
I only know APA rules, but 3 rails and not touching any balls is a foul.
Also, hitting your ball first then not touching a rail or not pocketing a ball is a foul..
What happens if you miss all balls in pool?
Any balls moved accidentally during a shot will be replaced by the opponent after the shot is over and all balls have stopped rolling. If it occurs before the shot, it will be replaced before the shot is taken.
What are the rules for a scratch in pool?
3.20 CUE BALL SCRATCH It is a foul (scratch) if on a stroke, the cue ball is pocketed. If the cue ball touches an object ball that was already pocketed (for example, in a pocket full of object balls), the shot is a foul.
What happens if you scratch on the break in Pool?
SCRATCH ON A LEGAL BREAK. If a player scratches on a legal break shot, (1) all balls pocketed remain pocketed (exception, the 8-ball: see rule 9), (2) it is a foul, (3) the table is open.
Is it a scratch if you don’t hit your ball first?
When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket.
What balls can you hit after a scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
Do you lose if you scratch on the 9 ball?
If the shooter makes the 9-ball on the break and fouls or scratches, the 9-ball (and only the 9-ball) is spotted. If the shooter is shooting at the object ball and plays it into the 9-ball and pockets the 9-ball, but scratches or otherwise fouls in the process, the 9-ball is spotted.
What happens if you make a stripe and solid on the break?
When the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. … The choice of stripes or solids is not determined on the break even if balls are made from only one or both groups. THE TABLE IS ALWAYS OPEN IMMEDIATELY AFTER THE BREAK SHOT.
Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
With World Rules in english pool with red and yellows or stripes and solids on a 7ft table 8 Ball pool game you are granted 2 shots with any foul regardless on what ball you or your opponent is on. Unless the foul is sinking the 8 Ball prematurely then it’s game over and a Win for the opposition.
What counts as a scratch on the 8 ball?
If you pocket the cue ball, that is a “scratch”. If you take a shot and the cue ball isn’t pocketed but fails to hit an object ball and a bunker, or drive an object ball into a bunker, that is a “table scratch”.
Is it a scratch if you miss all the balls?
means that you either hit the cue ball into a pocket, your opponent’s ball into a pocket, or you didn’t hit any balls at all. When you scratch, you automatically lose your turn. I have found three ways to “scratch”: 1)The cue ball strikes the 8-ball first (unless it is the only legal shot).
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
What happens if you scratch on the ball before the 8 ball?
But simply fouling/scratching while shooting at the 8 ball is not game over. It only gives ball in hand anywhere on the table, just like all fouls before it. … Legally pocket the 8-ball without fouling into a called pocket as a separate shot after clearing the table of your assigned group.
Do you pull a ball out on a scratch?
The Billiard Congress of America defines a scratch — a shot on which the cue ball is pocketed — as a foul. Even if you successfully pocket an object ball, you scratch if the cue ball drops into any pocket and you lose your turn.
What happens after a scratch in pool?
5. A scratch, foul, or illegal shot results in ball-in-hand, where your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table in preparation for the next shot. The only exception to this is the break (see the 8-ball and 9-ball differences that follow).
Do you win if you sink the 8 ball on the break?
Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. … After the break, the table is open regardless of whether or not any balls have been pocketed.