- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- Is ball in hand a real rule?
- What is a free shot in pool?
- Does a ball have to touch a cushion in pool?
- Can you hit an opponent’s ball in pool?
- Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
- Can you play a push shot in pool?
- When you break in pool and a ball goes in?
- What happens if you dont hit your ball in pool?
- What happens if you don’t hit a ball in 8 ball?
- Is it a scratch if you hit no balls?
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball.
the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball.
combo’s you must hit one of your balls first.
an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball..
Is ball in hand a real rule?
3.40 CUE BALL IN HAND FOUL During cue ball in hand placement, the player may use his hand or any part of his cue (including the tip) to position the cue ball. When placing the cue ball in position, any forward stroke motion of the cue stick contacting the cue ball will be considered a foul if not a legal shot.
What is a free shot in pool?
If no balls are potted and two object balls do not pass over this line, then the oncoming player is awarded ‘one free shot and one visit’. The cue ball may then be played from where it lies or from baulk. … It is also a foul if the cue ball is potted on the break.
Does a ball have to touch a cushion in pool?
Rule 1 – After the cue ball has made contact with the object ball a ball must touch a cushion after contact or the legal object ball must be potted. If the legal object is potted you do not need to hit a cushion after contact with the object ball.
Can you hit an opponent’s ball in pool?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.
Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
PLAYING THE 8-BALL. When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
Can you play a push shot in pool?
Definitions: Most shots commonly known as “Push Shots” in the game of “Snooker” are allowed in the game of Eight – Ball Pool. Generally, any shot played with speed will not be deemed to be a Push Shot regardless of the fact that the cue tip may have come into contact with the Cue Ball more than once.
When you break in pool and a ball goes in?
If you scratch on the break, your opponent gets ball-in-hand. 16. On the first shot after the break, the player at the table (the breaker if a ball was pocketed; otherwise the opponent) has the option to “push out,” where the cue ball can be hit anywhere, with or without contact with object balls or rails.
What happens if you dont hit your ball in pool?
The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket. If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table.
What happens if you don’t hit a ball in 8 ball?
If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. … The third infraction will result in loss of game.
Is it a scratch if you hit no balls?
So, if the player strikes the cue ball, which strikes an object ball, the object ball must either travel to a cushion or a pocket in order to be a legal shot. If the object ball does neither, it’s considered a table scratch. An error occurred.