- What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball first in Pool?
- Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
- Do you lose if you scratch on the break in Pool?
- Can you shoot backwards after a foul in pool?
- Can you hit a ball in the kitchen in pool?
- Do you lose if you miss the black ball?
- Why is the eight ball black?
- What happens when the black ball leaves the table?
- What happens if you hit the 8 ball first?
- Do you have to call the pocket in 8 ball?
- Where do you place the cue ball after a foul?
- Is there 2 shots on the black ball?
- What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
- Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
- Do you have to call your shot in pool?
- What happens if you hit the cue ball in with the 8 ball?
- What are the official rules of pool?
- Is there a 3 foul rule in 8 ball?
- What does an 8 ball stand for?
- Do pool balls get old?
- Can you intentionally foul in pool?
- Can you hit the ball backwards in snooker?
- Is it a scratch if you hit no balls?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- What happens if you foul in pool?
- What is a free shot in pool?
- Do you lose pool if you foul on the black?
- What happens if you don’t hit your ball in pool?
What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball first in Pool?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first.
The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table.
The punishment is the following: Your opponent has the right to move the white ball where he wants before playing.
He will have an easy shot..
Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
PLAYING THE 8-BALL. When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
Do you lose if you scratch on the break in Pool?
If you scratch on the break, your opponent gets ball-in-hand. … On the first shot after the break, the player at the table (the breaker if a ball was pocketed; otherwise the opponent) has the option to “push out,” where the cue ball can be hit anywhere, with or without contact with object balls or rails.
Can you shoot backwards after a foul in pool?
play, there is no concept of forward or backward, but when a ball is fouled, your opponent would be able to place the cue ball on the table anywhere they want and take a shot.
Can you hit a ball in the kitchen in pool?
The incoming player may place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string. The shooting player may shoot at any object ball as long as the base of the object ball is on or below the head string. … If a player positions the cue ball completely and obviously outside the kitchen and shoots the cue ball, it is a foul.
Do you lose if you miss the black ball?
When the player fails to pot a ball on the first or subsequent shot of the first visit, play then continues with the second visit. a) If a player pockets the black ball before all the balls in their own group10, the player loses the game.
Why is the eight ball black?
The phrase behind the eight ball refers to a position in a game of pool in which a player cannot make a direct shot at the target ball because the black eight ball obstructs the cue ball—as explained by Harold Hadley in Behind The Eight Ball, a short story published in the Daily News (New York City, N.Y.)
What happens when the black ball leaves the table?
If a ball returns to the table ‘by its own means’ then …. (a) It is not a foul if a ball leaves the playing surface runs along a cushion and drops back onto the surface before coming to rest or falling into a pocket, provided other requirements of a legal shot are fulfilled.
What happens if you hit the 8 ball first?
When the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. However, when the table is open and the 8-ball is the first ball contacted, no stripe or solid may be scored in favor of the shooter.
Do you have to call the pocket in 8 ball?
Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. That means you have to choose the pocket where you’re shooting before taking your shot. If a ball goes into a pocket, but it isn’t the called pocket, that would be the definition of slop. The way you choose your ball group is fairly simple.
Where do you place the cue ball after a foul?
I. In the event of a foul call, the opposing player receives cue ball in hand anywhere on the table. This means that the player can place the cue ball anywhere on the table (the cue ball does not have to be behind the headstring except on opening break or immediately after a foul on the break).
Is there 2 shots on the black ball?
If it’s just the black on the table, 1 shot. If you are on the black and there’s other balls left for your opponent, 2 shots.
What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.
Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
8 ball-pool Rules A minimum of four balls must hit a cushion otherwise it is a foul break. … The eight-ball must be the last ball potted to win the game. 5. In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots).
Do you have to call your shot in pool?
Eight Ball is generally played as a call shot game, which means that before you hit a ball, you must call the shot. First you pick your shot, then you say it aloud so your opponent can hear you: “Five ball in the corner pocket” or whatever the shot is that you’re about to make.
What happens if you hit the cue ball in with the 8 ball?
Balls must remain in a pocket to count as pocketed. If a ball goes into a pocket and bounces back on to the playing surface, it is not considered pocketed. If it is the 8-ball, it is not a win. If it is the cue ball, it is not a scratch.
What are the official rules of pool?
The first player to pot an object ball will then have to continue to pot the balls from that category (stripes or solids). The opposition player will have to pot the other group. A player will continue to make shots until they foul, or fail to pot an object ball. Then it is the turn of the opposing player.
Is there a 3 foul rule in 8 ball?
There is a three foul rule in many 8 ball rulles. It is 3 fouls in a row by each player is considered draw and the balls are re-racked and the game played over. The balls laying bad would allow too many easy games if three fouls were a loss.
What does an 8 ball stand for?
An 8 ball is one eighth of an ounce of a drug (usually cocaine). It can also refer to a mix of crack-cocaine and heroin as well as the malt-liquor brand Olde English 800. Sometimes, it can act as a derogatory term for a black person.
Do pool balls get old?
after about a year of use to a size that is no longer considered to meet specifications. The cue ball will degrade faster due to constantly being struck by cue tips. However, if your pool table isn’t subjected to much use, then your balls can last well over a year.
Can you intentionally foul in pool?
So long as a player plays his own object ball on first contact, or via a cushion, with the cue ball in a given shot, a ‘Deliberate Foul’ cannot be called.
Can you hit the ball backwards in snooker?
World rules stipulate that white ball potted of the break is one shot open table and your allowed too shoot backwards. As long as the white ball relain a behind the baulk line.
Is it a scratch if you hit no balls?
So, if the player strikes the cue ball, which strikes an object ball, the object ball must either travel to a cushion or a pocket in order to be a legal shot. If the object ball does neither, it’s considered a table scratch. An error occurred.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
What happens if you foul in pool?
If the player pockets the 8 ball and commits a foul or pockets it into another pocket than the one designated, then the player loses the game. Otherwise (i.e., if the 8 ball is neither pocketed nor knocked off the table) the shooter’s turn is simply over, even if a foul occurs.
What is a free shot in pool?
16. Free Shot After A Foul. Following a foul the table is declared ‘open’ and the oncoming player takes a ‘free’ shot. In doing so it is permissible to play onto any object ball. Any ball may be potted, including the black if it is ‘on’.
Do you lose pool if you foul on the black?
If a player pockets the 8 ball (black) before all the balls in their own group, except on the break (see rule 4(D)), the player loses the game. A player going in off the 8 ball (black) when the 8 ball (black) is pocketed, loses the game.
What happens if you don’t hit your ball in pool?
The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket. If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table.